Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort 2015

Historic Grand Prix, Zandvoort 

Friday 28th August -Sunday 30th August 2015 – Zandvoort, Netherlands



zndvoortlogo  Paul Ricard Circuit Mapraceweather hscclogo small          resultsflag

Photo Galleries

Historic F1 Galleries  hf2  bar sportscars  fjunior


Race Report HF2

Darwin Smith was the star of rounds seven and eight of the HSCC Historic Formula 2 FIA International Series at the Zandvoort circuit in the Netherlands (29/30 August).

Another excellent field of Formula 2 cars from the 1970s contested a double-header event at the high-profile Zandvoort Historic Grand Prix at the home of the former Dutch Grand Prix. Now, just two races remain in the 10-race schedule as the season concludes at Dijon (France) on 2-4 October.

While Northern Irishman Smith won both races, double reigning champion Robert Simac took two more class wins to remain in control of the points in his ex-Jean-Pierre Jaussaud March 712. The Frenchman is now in a strong position to clinch the title at his home track next month.

Smith started the opening race from pole position and went steadily clear as Matthew Watts (March 772P) led the chase. Phil Hall (March 752) completed the podium with a strong run to third place once Richard Evans retired his Formula Atlantic March 79B.

In the class for 1600cc F2 cars, Simac won again from US commuter James King (March 712) and Australian visitor Martin Bullock (Chevron B17C).

In the weekend’s second race, Smith completed his perfect weekend as Watts chased him to the flag. Hall again took the final podium position while Mark Piercy (Lola T360) was an excellent fourth after missing the opening race. In the 1600cc class, Simac won again from King and Paul Bason (March 712).

This season Moto Berazzi Ltd, a new name in the manufacture of wheels for historic racing cars, is supporting the HSCC Historic Formula 2 FIA International Series. Somerset-based Moto Berazzi will specialise in making three-piece rims for single-seaters and sports-racing cars from the late 1960s and 1970s. The rims are ideal for cars from manufacturers like Chevron, Lola, March and Lotus.

 Paul Lawrence HSCC

 Masters Race Report

Michael Lyons was the star at the Historic GP meeting at Zandvoort, leading most of the first race and winning the second race of the FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship double-header on the classic Dutch track. Only brake problems in the first race prevented him from a clean sweep, gifting Saturdays win to championship leader Lo�c Deman.

Michael Lyons beat front-row man Deman (Tyrrell 010) and Rob Hall (Ligier-Matra JS17) into the first corner after a blinding start in the opening race, but after leading much of the race was forced to drop back when his Hesketh 308E encountered severe rear-brake problems. This gifted Deman his sixth win of the season. The Belgian headed home Hall and Andy Wolfe (Tyrrell 011). Lyons hung on to finish fourth and took pre-78 honours ahead of Nick Padmore (Surtees TS9B) and Jamie Constable (Shadow DN8).

On Sunday, Hall got the jump on poleman Deman and led the Belgian with Lyons in third. The Hesketh was soon leading, though, after two decisive early-race moves within the space of one lap, Lyons using a clever switchback manoeuvre to pass Halls Ligier. This time, Lyons ran out the race comfortably ahead of Hall and Wolfe, while Deman ran into trouble and fell back to fifth. Nick Padmore (fourth overall in his Surtees TS9B) and James Hagan (Ensign N177) completed the pre-78 podium.

Saturdays Pre-66 Touring Car fixture proved very much a two-horse race, as both the Leo Voyazides/Simon Hadfield Ford Falcon and the Alex Furiani/Frank Stippler Alfa Romeo GTA lapped the entire field. The Falcon made the early running but it was the GTA that scored the race win once Stippler had taken over from Furiani. Armand Adriaans added a bit of local colour by finishing a distant third in his Ford Mustang.

The Gentlemen Drivers Pre-66 GT race included lots of local interest, as Dutch historic racers David Hart and Hans Hugenholtz added international stars Giedo van der Garde and Tom Coronel to their two-car AC Cobra line-up. It was Simon Hadfield, however, who snatched pole from Van der Garde in a last-gasp attempt, and the Cobra Daytona Coupe he shared with Leo Voyazides duly took the lead in the 90-minute enduro. In the end they scored a comfortable win after the Hart/Van der Garde threat evaporated. This was due to a 15-second stop-and-go penalty for the Dutch pair as the driver change was cone one lap short of the pit window opening but Hadfields lead already looked secure when Van der Garde had to serve his penalty. The forced stop allowed Julian Thomas/Nigel Greensall (Jaguar E-type) to take second, while Van der Garde charged back from sixth to claim the final podium position for the two Dutchmen.

For the locals, Hart was again the focal point in Sundays FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship race. He was running second to Jon Minshaws similar Lola-Chevrolet T70 Mk3B when he challenged for the lead at quarter distance. Contact ensued, leaving Harts Lola with damage and missing its right-hand door. While the Dutchman was forced to retire, Minshaw continued and handed his car to Phil Keen for a dominant win.

Not having set a time in practice, Leo Voyazides/Simon Hadfield put in a storming drive through the entire field to take second place in their T70 Mk3B while Michael Gans/Andy Wolfe rounded out the top-three in their Lola T290. Mark Bates (Porsche 911 RSR) and Keith Ahlers/Billy Bellinger (Cooper Monaco �King Co